a crazy beginning.

A couple months ago, I wrote in my newsletter (see the link at the top if you want to check my facts…it’s the May edition!) that I really felt like the Lord was leading me back into homeless ministry.  What I didn’t mention is that I had applied for a job at the Union Gospel Mission in Yakima.  In April, a friend mentioned to me that they might be hiring, so I did a little research (i.e. I checked the “open positions” spot on their website) and found out that, in fact, they were.  Turns out that their Family Shelter was in need of a couple assistant directors.  In looking at the job description, I realized it was exactly what I wanted to do, so I filled out an application and mailed it in.  They got my application, but didn’t take it too seriously because they felt certain that the Family Shelter would be open long before the middle of June, which was the earliest I could start working.  Skipping a couple months ahead to the first week of June…they still weren’t open.  They had filled one of the positions, but still needed someone else.  And they remembered that I had applied! So I got a nice little phone call, asking if I was still interested in the position (I was), and after 2 applications and 2 interviews…I’m the newest, and youngest, staff member at the UGM.  All this to say, the Lord is good.  Real good.  He promises to reward those who are faithful, and I have seen that time and time again.

So, for various reasons, I won’t often be able to give you specific stories of things that happen here, but I’ll do my best to keep you informed and excited about the things God’s doing here!

Leave a Reply

