rethink.

For awhile now, I’ve been trying to figure out where I want this blog to go and what I want its purpose to be.

I still don’t know.

I have some ideas that are swirling around in my mind, one of which includes a complete overhaul in which the end result doesn’t look like a generic template (as it does now).

But during that process of figuring things out, and during this crazy season of my life (I recently started grad school, I’m trying to revamp the kids program at work plus start one for older kids, etc.), I’m going to occasionally post words written by other people.  I’ll let you know when that’s happening so you don’t think all of a sudden I’m able to write in a dozen different voices, though that would be pretty cool.

For now, read this:

For those of you who don’t want to click over because you think that will take too much of a commitment, here’s an excerpt:

“Through my words, I created a mentality of ‘us’ and ‘them,’ ‘we’ versus ‘they.’ I was furthering the idea that we need to help them. This patronizing attitude flowing from my speech was undermining the values of equality and diversity I strongly believe in.”

The article talks about how our language speaks volumes about what we actually believe in our hearts, and though it’s primarily about racism, it can easily be applied to other areas of difference.  It’s challenging, but well worth the read!

Leave a Reply

